The town was established in the late 1800’s as a result of the discovery of gold by the crew of the Overland Telegraph Line. Pine Creek still relies on mining for its survival, with the majority of the population involved in mining or related industries. It was named after the local creek which was crossed in December 1870 by the teams constructing the Overland Telegraph Line. The creek was notable, as the name suggests, for the many pines on its banks.
Pine Creek has a population of around 650, which includes surrounding stations and Kybrook Farm, an Aboriginal community of around 100 people from various tribal groups. The population has doubled recently with the opening of new mines.
Pine Creek History